One concert, no less than three world premieres: Bach, Costanzi, and Sollima’s reflections on their music.

Holland Baroque asked Giovanni Sollima to compose a piece based on Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3.

The instrumentation of both the Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and Sollima’s composition has been doubled and the set-up has been changed from mono to stereo: reflected, you might say.
Sollima’s reflection creates a wealth of musical possibilities cut out for the cellist and the orchestra: an exciting dialogue within the ensemble, virtuoso solos moving through the orchestra as waves, and resounding strings you just can’t get enough of.

The master Giovanni Sollima is an extraordinary cellist and composer who effortlessly moves between old, new, improvisation, ensemble, and virtuoso solos. Recently, he has deservedly been awarded the Anner Bijlsma Award.

Giovanni Sollima cello

Giovanni Battista Costanzi – Celloconcert in G
Giovanni Battista Costanzi – Celloconcert in F
Giovanni Sollima – The missing adagio
Johann Sebastian Bach – Brandenburgs concert nr.3 in G
Giovanni Sollima – Reflection on Bachs Brandenburgs concert nr.3

Bach & Sollima2018-10-28 20:30:00Parkstad Limburg TheatersHeerlen
Bach & Sollima2018-10-30 20:00:00TivoliVredenburgUtrecht
Bach & Sollima2018-11-03 20:15:00Nieuwe kerkDen Haag